Government of Nepal
Ministry of Industry, Commerce & Supplies
Singhadurbar, Nepal

Chandra Kumar Ghimire

Secretary (Commerce and supplies)




Date of Birth                         

: 30th November 1964

Permanent Address              

: Dharan Sub-metropolitan City, Sunsari District, Nepal

Current Portfolio      

: Secretary (Special Class), Ministry of Commerce, Government of Nepal (GoN), 4th September 2017 onwards

Merits and Promotions           

: Secretary (Special Class), Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (GoN), 22nd January 2016

: Joint Secretary, Nepal Gazetted First Class (Administration), 23rd November 2005 (Open Competition)

: Under Secretary, Nepal Gazetted Second Class (Administration), 22nd August 1995 (Open Competition)

: Section Officer, Nepal Gazetted Third Class (Administration), 16th July 1989

Key Past Assignments           


: Secretary (Economic and Infrastructure Affairs), Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (GoN), May to September 2017

: Secretary, National Planning Commission (GoN), November 2016 to May 2017

: Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (GoN), January to November 2016

: Consul General, Consulate General of Nepal, Kolkata, India, January 2012 to January 2016

: Joint Secretary, Ministry of Commerce, GoN, December 2009 to January 2012 and also represented LDCs in the EIF Global Mechanism, WTO, 2010 - January 2012

: Joint Secretary, Ministry of General Administration (GoN), July 2008 to December 2009

: Joint Secretary, Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies (GoN), April to August 2006

: Joint Secretary, Ministry of General Administration (GoN), November 2005 to April 2006

: Under Secretary, Peace Secretariat (GoN), August 2004 to November 2005

: Under Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (GoN), November 2002 to August 2004

: Local Development Officer, Sunsari District Development Committee (DDC), December 2000 to November 2002

: Under Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (GoN), August 1996 to December 2000

: Planning Officer, National Planning Commission (GoN), March to August 1996

: Section Officer, Ministry of Housing and Physical Planning (GoN), July 1991 to August 1996

Academic Credentials            

: M.Phil in Public Policy, University of Bergen, Norway, 2008

: Master of Public Administration, Tribhuvan University, Nepal, Gold Medallist (summa cum laude), Nepal Vidhya Bhushan Kha, 2002

: Master of Business Administration, Tribhuvan University, Nepal, 1996

: Bachelor’s in Law, Tribhuvan University, Nepal, 1996


: Harvard University, Kennedy School of Government, USA, Practice of Trade Policy, 2010

: Chevening Fellow, University of York, UK, 2006

: PG Diploma, IHS, Rotterdam, the Netherlands, Jan-June 1996

: Trained from a number of reputed institutes from across the   globe

Working Papers        

: Presented Papers and represented Nepal in various international and national forums as Key Note Speaker, Chair and Commentator


: Published many articles and interviews in national and international journals and dailies


: Don't Touch Me O Kabitaharu – Poems (September 2012), Anthology of Poems, Fine Prints, Nepal

: Kath ko Baakas (March 2016), Anthology of Poems, Sangrila Books, Nepal

Awards, Medals and Decorations

: Suprabal Jana Sewashri Medal, a State medal conferred by the President of Nepal in honour of the contribution to public services

: In recognition of the valuable contribution to Nepal’s trade and transit sector while working in the Ministry of Commerce and Consulate General of Nepal in Kolkota (India), private sector awarded NEFFA Annual Award-2016

: Nepal Bidhyabhushan ‘Kha’, MPA (Tribhuvan University) 2004 for being summa cum laude

: Nepal Janaprasashan Sangh (Nepal Public Administration Association) Medal 2004, for being summa cum laude in MPA (Tribhuvan University)

Countries Visited
: The Netherlands, France, Germany, Switzerland, UK, USA, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Thailand, China, South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Kenya, UAE, Qatar, Czech Republic, Peru, Brazil, Belgium, Luxembourg, Norway, Denmark, Austria.